Children's & Young Adult Fiction
E. T. A. Hoffman, 'The Nutcracker and the Mouse King' (1816)
Charles Dickens, 'Nicholas Nickleby' (1839)
Charles Dickens, 'A Christmas Carol' (1843)
Frederick Marryat, 'The Children of the New Forest' (1847)
Thomas Hughes, 'Tom Brown's Schooldays' (1857)
Lewis Carroll, D. Gray [Ed.], 'Alice in Wonderland' (1865/1871)
Mark Twain, B. L. Clark [Ed.], 'The Adventures of Tom Sawyer' (1876)
Anna Sewell, 'Black Beauty' (1877)
Robert Louis Stevenson, 'Treasure Island' (1883)
Mark Twain, T. Cooley [Ed.], 'Adventures of Huckleberry Finn' (1884)
Johanna Spyri, 'Heidi' (1884)
Robert Louis Stevenson, 'Kidnapped' (1886)
Rudyard Kipling, 'The Jungle Book' (1894)
J. Meade Falkner, 'Moonfleet' (1898)
Jack London, 'Call of the Wild' (1903)
L. M. Montgomery, M. Rubio & E. Waterston [Eds.], 'Anne of Green Gables' (1908)
Kenneth Grahame, 'The Wind in the Willows' (1908)
Frances Hodgson Burnett, G. H. Gerzina [Ed.], 'The Secret Garden' (1911)
A. A. Milne, 'The House at Pooh Corner' (1928)
Arthur Ransome, 'Swallows and Amazons' (1931)
P. L. Travers, 'Mary Poppins' (1934)
J. R. R. Tolkien, 'The Hobbit' (1937)
T. H. White, 'The Sword in the Stone' (1938)
Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, 'The Little Prince' (1943)
Astrid Lindgren, 'Pippi Longstocking' (1945)
Tove Jansson, 'Finn Family Moomintroll' (1949)
C. S. Lewis, 'The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe' (1950)
J. D. Salinger, 'The Catcher in the Rye' (1951)
E. B. White, 'Charlotte's Web' (1952)
Mary Norton, 'The Borrowers' (1952)
William Golding, 'Lord of the Flies' (1954)
Philippa Pearce, 'Tom's Midnight Garden' (1958)
Margery Sharp, 'The Rescuers' (1959)
Joan Aiken, 'The Wolves of Willoughby Chase' (1962)
Madeleine L'Engle, 'A Wrinkle in Time' (1962)
Alan Garner, 'The Owl Service' (1967)
Ted Hughes, 'The Iron Man' (1968)
Ursula K. Le Guin, 'A Wizard of Earthsea' (1968)
Richard Adams, 'Watership Down' (1972)
Michael Ende, 'Momo' (1973)
Sue Townsend, 'The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, Aged 13¾' (1982)
Philip Pullman, 'Northern Lights' (1995)
Michael Morpurgo, 'Kensuke's Kingdom' (1999)
Jacqueline Wilson, 'The Illustrated Mum' (1999)
Jamila Gavin, 'Coram Boy' (2000)
Malorie Blackman, 'Noughts and Crosses' (2001)
Mark Haddon, 'The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time' (2003)
Geraldine McCaughrean, 'Not the End of the World' (2004)
John Boyne, 'The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas' (2006)
Suzanne Collins 'The Hunger Games' (2008)
Speculative Fiction
George MacDonald, 'Phantastes: A Faerie Romance for Men and Women' (1858)
H. G. Wells, 'The First Men in the Moon' (1901)
David Lindsay, ‘A Voyage to Arcturus’ (1920)
E. R. Eddison, 'The Worm Ouroboros' (1922)
Hope Mirrless, 'Lud-in-the-Mist' (1926)
Sylvia Townsend Warner, 'Lolly Willowes' (1926)
Frank Herbert, 'Dune' (1965)
Peter S. Beagle, 'The Last Unicorn' (1968)
Roger Lancelyn Green, 'A Book of Dragons' (1970)
M. John Harrison, 'Viriconium Series' (1971-1984)
Norman Spinrad, 'The Iron Dream' (1972)
Philip K. Dick, 'Flow My Tears, the Policeman Said' (1974)
Ursula K. Le Guin, 'The Dispossessed: An Ambiguous Utopia' (1974)
Joanna Russ, 'The Female Man' (1975)
Samuel R Delaney, 'Dhalgren' (1975)
Marge Piercy, 'Woman on the Edge of Time' (1976)
Michael Ende, 'The Neverending Story' (1979)
Frederik Pohl, 'Jem' (1980)
Tanith Lee, 'The Silver Metal Lover' (1981)
Michael Moorcock, 'The Dancers at the End of Time' (1981)
Robert Holdstock, 'Mythago Wood' (1984)
Diana Wynne Jones, 'Archer's Goon' (1984)
George Alec Effinger, 'When Gravity Fails' (1986)
Jenny Nimmo, 'Snow Spider Trilogy' (1986-1989)
Susan Price, 'The Ghost Drum' (1987)
Mary Gentle, 'Rats and Gargoyles' (1990)
Terry Pratchett, 'Small Gods' (1992)
Kim Stanley Robinson, 'The Mars Trilogy' (1992–96)
Neal Stephenson, 'Snow Crash' (1992)
Michael Swanwick, 'The Iron Dragon's Daughter' (1993)
Elizabeth Hand, 'Walking the Moon' (1994)
Amitav Gosh, 'The Calcutta Chromosome' (1995)
Melissa Scott, 'Shadow Man' (1995)
Robin Hobb, 'Liveship Traders Trilogy' (1998-2000)
Nalo Hopkinson, 'Skin Folk' (2001)
Steven Barnes, 'The Insh'Allah series' (2002-2003)
Alan Moore, 'The League of Extraordinary Gentleman Vol. 1' (2002)
S. M. Stirling, 'The Peshawar Lancers' (2002)
Evangeline Walton, 'The Mabinogion Tetralogy' (2002)
N. Hopkinson & U. Mehan [Eds.], 'So Long Been Dreaming' (2004)
Hal Duncan, 'Vellum' (2005)
Susanna Clarke, 'Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell' (2007)
Ekaterina Sedia [Ed.], 'Paper Cities' (2008)
Lev Grossman, 'The Magicians' (2009)
Scott Westerfeld, 'Leviathan' (2009)
N. K. Jemisin, 'The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms' (2010)
Guy Gavriel Kay, 'Under Heaven' (2010)
China Miéville, 'The City and the City' (2011)
David Gullen, 'Shopocalypse' (2013)
Nisi Shawl, 'Everfair' (2016)